News Flash

Book Carousel

Posted on: February 1, 2019

The Last Romantics

The Last Romantics

"Tara Conklin is a generous writer who deftly brings us into the world of this fictional family, an engrossing and vivid place where I was happy to stay. The Last Romantics is a richly observed novel, both ambitious and welcoming." -- Meg Wolitzer The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings. "The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we've read and watched and witnessed. Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions. We tell these stories until we believe them." When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time. It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings--fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona--emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they've made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love. A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose--and sometimes rescue--the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories--how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.

Go to Catalog
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Book Carousel

California Girls

California Girls

Posted on: February 1, 2019
The Border

The Border

Posted on: February 1, 2019
The Black Ascot

The Black Ascot

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Age of Light

The Age of Light

Posted on: February 1, 2019
I Owe You One

I Owe You One

Posted on: February 1, 2019
I invited her in

I Invited Her In

Posted on: February 1, 2019
The Girl in the Glass Box

The Girl in the Glass Box

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Dark Age

Dark Age: A Red Rising Novel

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Daughters of Molika'i

Daughter of Moloka'i

Posted on: February 1, 2019
On the Come Up

On the Come Up

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Never Tell

Never Tell

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Mission Critical

Mission Critical

Posted on: February 1, 2019
The Lost Man

The Lost Man

Posted on: February 1, 2019
The Lost Girls of Paris

The Lost Girls of Paris

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Killer Collective

The Killer Collective

Posted on: February 1, 2019
The Chef

The Chef

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Suspicious Minds

Stranger Things: Suspicious Minds

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Putin's World

Putin's World: Russia Against the West

Posted on: February 1, 2019
Parkland

Parkland: Birth of a Movement

Posted on: February 1, 2019