News Flash

Book Carousel

Posted on: September 2, 2022

Widowland

Widowland

Part 1 of the Widowland series

"A compulsive, terrifying read."-Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Rose Code. 

For readers of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale comes a thrilling feminist dystopian novel set in an alternative history that terrifyingly imagines what a British alliance with Germany would look like if the Nazis had won WWII.

To control the past, they edited history. To control the future, they edited literature.

LONDON, 1953. Thirteen years have passed since England surrendered to the Nazis and formed a Grand Alliance with Germany. It was forced to adopt many of its oppressive ideologies, one of which was the strict classification of women into hierarchical groups based on the perceived value they brought to society.

Rose Ransom, a member of the privileged Geli class, remembers life from before the war but knows better than to let it show. She works for the Ministry of Culture, rewriting the classics of English literature to ensure there are no subversive thoughts that will give women any ideas.

Outbreaks of insurgency have been seen across the country with graffiti made up of seditious lines from forbidden works by women painted on public buildings. Suspicion has fallen on Widowland, the run-down slums where childless women over fifty have been banished. Rose is given the dangerous task of infiltrating Widowland to find the source of the rebellion before the Leader arrives in England for the Coronation ceremony of King Edward VIII and Queen Wallis.

Will Rose follow her instructions and uncover the criminals? Or will she fight for what she knows in her heart is right?

Go to Hoopla
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Book Carousel

Captive

Captive

Posted on: September 13, 2022
The Rising Tide

The Rising Tide

Posted on: September 13, 2022
What if 2

What If 2

Posted on: September 13, 2022
Dinners with Ruth

Dinners with Ruth

Posted on: September 13, 2022
A Song of Comfortalbe Chairs

The Song of Comfortable Chairs

Posted on: September 13, 2022
Blowback

Blowback

Posted on: September 13, 2022
Dreamland

Dreamland

Posted on: September 13, 2022
Desperation in Death

Desperation in Death

Posted on: September 13, 2022
Fairy Tale

Fairy Tale

Posted on: September 13, 2022
Winding River Reunion

Winding River Reunion

Posted on: September 13, 2022
The Highland Hens

The Highland Hens

Posted on: September 13, 2022
The Neapolitan Sisters

The Neapolitan Sisters

Posted on: September 13, 2022