News Flash

Book Carousel

Posted on: February 1, 2020

Things in a Jar

Things in a Jar

In the dark underbelly of Victorian London, a formidable female sleuth is pulled into the macabre world of fanatical anatomists and crooked surgeons while investigating the kidnapping of an extraordinary child in this gothic mystery--perfect for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation.

Bridie Devine--female detective extraordinaire--is confronted with the most baffling puzzle yet: the kidnapping of Christabel Berwick, secret daughter of Sir Edmund Athelstan Berwick, and a peculiar child whose reputed supernatural powers have captured the unwanted attention of collectors trading curiosities in this age of discovery.

Winding her way through the labyrinthine, sooty streets of Victorian London, Bridie won’t rest until she finds the young girl, even if it means unearthing a past that she’d rather keep buried. Luckily, her search is aided by an enchanting cast of characters, including a seven-foot tall housemaid; a melancholic, tattoo-covered ghost; and an avuncular apothecary. But secrets abound in this foggy underworld where spectacle is king and nothing is quite what it seems.

Blending darkness and light, history and folklore, Things in Jars is a spellbinding Gothic mystery that collapses the boundary between fact and fairy tale to stunning effect and explores what it means to be human in inhumane time

Go to Catalog
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Book Carousel

A Good Neighborhood

A Good Neighborhood

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Amnesty

Amnesty

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Coconut Layer Cake Murder

Coconut Layer Cake Murder

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Crooked River

Crooked River

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Dead to Her

Dead to Her

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Food Fix

Food Fix

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Golden in Death

Golden in Death

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Life in the Fasting Lane

Life in the Fasting Lane

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Perfect Little Children

Perfect Little Children

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Postscript

Postscript

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Promises of the Heart

The Promises of the Heart

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Rise

Rise : My Story

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Sisters by Choice

Sisters By Choice

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Adventurer's Son

The Adventurer's Son: A Memoir

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Authenticity Project

The Authenticity

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Bachelor

The Bachelor

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Big Lie

The Big Lie

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The King's Justice

The King's Justice

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Mercy House

Mercy House

Posted on: February 1, 2020
the Splendid and the Vile

The Splendid and the Vile

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Other Mrs

The Other Mrs.

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Sundown Motel

The Sun Down Motel

Posted on: February 1, 2020
The Warsaw Protocol

The Warsaw Protocol

Posted on: February 1, 2020
Whistle Blower

The Whistleblower

Posted on: February 1, 2020