News Flash

Book Carousel

Posted on: August 1, 2022

Sinkable

Sinkable

On a frigid April night in 1912, the world's largest--and soon most famous--ocean liner struck an iceberg and slipped beneath the waves. She had scarcely disappeared before her new journey began, a seemingly limitless odyssey through the world's fixation with her every tragic detail. Plans to find and raise the Titanic began almost immediately. Yet seven decades passed before it was found. Why? And of some three million shipwrecks that litter the ocean floor, why is the world still so fascinated with this one?

    In Sinkable, Daniel Stone spins a fascinating tale of history, science, and obsession, uncovering the untold story of the Titanic not as a ship but as a shipwreck. He explores generations of eccentrics, like American Charles Smith, whose 1914 recovery plan using a synchronized armada of ships bearing electromagnets was complex, convincing, and utterly impossible; Jack Grimm, a Texas oil magnate who fruitlessly dropped a fortune to find the wreck after failing to find Noah's Ark; and the British Doug Woolley, a former pantyhose factory worker who has claimed, since the 1960s, to be the true owner of the Titanic wreckage.

    Along the way, Sinkable takes readers through the two miles of ocean water in which the Titanic sank, showing how the ship broke apart and why, and delves into the odd history of our understanding of such depths. Author Daniel Stone studies the landscape of the seabed, which in the Titanic's day was thought to be as smooth and featureless as a bathtub. He interviews scientists to understand the decades of rust and decomposition that are slowly but surely consuming the ship. (It is expected to disappear entirely within a few decades!) He even journeys over the Atlantic, during a global pandemic, to track down the elusive Doug Woolley. And Stone turns inward, looking at his own dark obsession with both the Titanic and shipwrecks in general, and why he spends hours watching ships sink on YouTube.
 
   Brimming with humor, curiosity and wit, Sinkable follows in the tradition of Susan Orlean and Bill Bryson, offering up a page-turning work of personal journalism and an immensely entertaining romp through the deep sea and the nature of obsession

Go to Catalog
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Book Carousel

After We Were Stolen

After We Were Stolen

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Cowboy Everafter

Cowboy Ever after

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Italian Ballerina

The Italian Ballerina

Posted on: August 1, 2022
One Last Day of Summer

One Last Day of Summer

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Save My Children

Save My Children

Posted on: August 1, 2022
The Warmth of Sunshine

The Warmth of Sunshine

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Babysitter

Babysitter

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Black Dog

Black Dog

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Challenge

The Challenge

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Destructionists

The Destructionist

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Diana William

Diana, William and Harry

Posted on: August 1, 2022
diary of a misfit

Diary of a Misfit

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Girl forgotten

Girl Forgotten

Posted on: August 1, 2022
How to eat more plants

How to Eat More Plants

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Hunt

The Hunt

Posted on: August 1, 2022
im glad

I'm Glad My Mom Died

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Overkill

Overkill

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Quicksand

Quicksand

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Reckoning

Reckoning

Posted on: August 1, 2022
Secrets

Secrets

Posted on: August 1, 2022
The 9th month

The Ninth Month

Posted on: August 1, 2022
the family remains

The Family Remains

Posted on: August 1, 2022