News Flash Home
The original item was published from 9/7/2018 3:14:17 PM to 9/7/2018 3:15:04 PM.

News Flash

Book Carousel

Posted on: September 7, 2018

[ARCHIVED] Feminasty

Feminasty

From the wickedly famous and feminist creator and host of the "Throwing Shade" podcast, a collection of hilarious personal essays and political commentary perfect for fans of Lindy West and Roxane Gay. Since women earned the right to vote a little under one hundred years ago, our progress hasn't been the Olympic sprint toward gender equality first wave feminists hoped for, but more of a slow, elderly mall walk (with frequent stops to Cinnabon) over the four hundred million hurdles we still face. Some of these obstacles are obvious-unequal pay, under-representation in government, reproductive restrictions, lack of floor-length mirrors in hotel rooms. But a lot of them are harder to identify. They're the white noise of oppression that we've accepted as lady business as usual, and the patriarchy wants to keep it that way. Erin Gibson has a singular goal-to create a utopian future where women are recognized as humans. In FEMINASTY-titled after her nickname on the hit podcast "Throwing Shade"-she has written a collection of make-you-laugh-until-you-cry essays that expose the hidden rules that make life as a woman unnecessarily hard and deconstructs them in a way that's bold, provocative and hilarious. Whether it's shaming women for having their periods, allowing them into STEM fields but never treating them like they truly belong, or dictating strict rules for how they should dress in every situation, Erin breaks down the organized chaos of old fashioned sexism, intentional and otherwise, that systemically keeps women down.

Go to Catalog
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Book Carousel

social-ig_bb_backinfeb_2023

Bonus Borrows from Hoopla

Posted on: February 1, 2023
A Calder at Heart

A Calder at Heart

Posted on: February 1, 2023
Electric Idol

Electric Idol

Posted on: February 1, 2023
Encore in Death

Encore in Death

Posted on: February 1, 2023
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone

Go Tell the Bees That I am Gone

Posted on: February 1, 2023
I Know Who You Are

I Know Who You Are

Posted on: February 1, 2023
IN the Time of Our History

In the Time of Our History

Posted on: February 1, 2023
Invisible

Invisible

Posted on: February 1, 2023
The Bird Tattoo

The Bird Tattoo

Posted on: February 1, 2023
The Climate Book

The Climate Book

Posted on: February 1, 2023
The Last Kingdom

The Last Kingdom

Posted on: February 1, 2023
The Last Orphan

The Last Orphan: An Orphan X Novel

Posted on: February 1, 2023
the Marriage List

The Marriage List

Posted on: February 1, 2023
The Storyteller

The Storyteller

Posted on: February 1, 2023
The Year in Teck 2023

The Year in Tech 2023

Posted on: February 1, 2023
Unnatural History

Unnatural History

Posted on: February 1, 2023
Young Forever

Young Forever

Posted on: February 1, 2023